Friday marks the first day of early voting in the county general election as well as state and federal primaries.

The county general election will include two contested Loudon County Commission races — district 2, seat A between Julia Hurley and Earlena Maples, and district 5, seat B between Van Shaver and Jan Theodore Hahn.

There are three other contested races, with Mike Hickman and William Jenkins running for the Loudon County Board of Education’s second district, seat A, while Kim Bridges will challenge LeRoy Tate for the BOE’s fourth district and Greg Buckner, Zack Cusick and Aaron Lewis all seek the sixth district.

At the state level, contested races include the Tennessee House of Representative’s 21st district Republican primary where Tony Aikens, Doyle Arp and Lowell Russell compete for a spot in November’s general election. The race for the fifth senatorial district’s state executive committeeman is also contested between Richard Esparza and Scott Smith.

The gubernatorial race is heavily contested with Diane Black, Randy Boyd, Beth Harwell, Bill Lee, Basil Marceaux Sr. and Kay White running on the Republican side, while Karl Dean, Craig Fitzhugh and Mezianne Vale Payne face off as Democrats.

There are two contested federal races, with Marsha Blackburn and Aaron Pettigrew vying for the U.S. Senate as Republicans, while Phil Bredesen, Gary Davis and John Wolfe run as Democrats.

The U.S. House of Representatives seat for the second congressional district draws the biggest field with Tim Burchett, Jason Emert, Hank Hamblin, Jimmy Matlock, Sarah Ashley Nickloes, Vito Sagliano and C. David Stansberry all running as Republicans, while Renee Hoyos, Joseph William Schenkenfelder and Joshua Williams are running as Democrats.

Early voting is July 13-28, and polls will be open 10 a.m.-6 p.m. weekdays and 9 a.m.-noon Saturdays. Early voting locations are the Loudon County Office Building, 100 River Road, Loudon, and the Roane State Community College campus at 100 West Broadway St., Lenoir City.

In Tellico Village, early voting will be available 10 a.m.-6 p.m. July 17-19 at Chota Recreation Center, 145 Awohili Drive, Loudon.

Election day is set for Aug. 2, and polls will be open 8 a.m.-8 p.m. A full list of voting locations is available at