While final ballots for the state/federal primary and county general election will not be set until the county primary wraps up May 1, August already promises to be full of well-contested races.

One of the most heavily contested races is to replace Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam. There are 35 candidates registered to run — six Republicans, three Democrats and 26 independents.

Republicans running for governor are Diane Black, Randy Boyd, Beth Harwell, Bill Lee, Basil Marceaux Sr. and Kay White. Democrats are Karl Dean, Craig Fitzhugh and Mezianne Vale Payne. There is one local independent in the race, Justin Cornett of Lenoir City.

There are 11 candidates running to replace Bob Corker in the U.S. Senate — two Republicans, three Democrats and six independents. Republican candidates are Marsha Blackburn and Aaron Pettigrew, while Democrats running are Phil Bredesen, Gary Davis and John Wolfe.

Loudon County voters will also cast a ballot in District 2 for one of the most heavily contested races for the U.S. House of Representatives. Seven Republicans, three Democrats and four independents are seeking to replace John Duncan Jr.

Republicans running are Tim Burchett, Jason Frederick Emert, Hank Hamblin, Jimmy Matlock, Sarah Nickloes, Vito Sagliano and C. David Stansberry. Democrats are Renee Hoyos, Joseph Schenkenfelder and Joshua Williams.

Incumbent Sen. Randy McNally, R-Oak Ridge, is being challenged by Democrat Stuart Starr of Lenoir City for the District 5 seat.

Three Republican candidates — Tony Aikens, Doyle Arp and Lowell Russell — and Democrat Laura Miller will run for the District 21 seat in the Tennessee House of Representatives previously held by Matlock. The race for the District 32 seat includes Republican Kent Calfee and Democrat Mary Ellen Blencoe, both of Roane County.

Locally, there are three contested races for Loudon County Board of Education. Mike Hickman and Will Jenkins will run for the District 2, seat A; Kim Bridges and LeRoy Tate will seek the District 4 seat; and Greg Buckner, Zack Cusick and Aaron Lewis will battle for District 6. Bobby Johnson Jr. is running unopposed for District 2, seat B.