While official ballots have not been released, most of the races for the Nov. 6 city elections have been set.

All four Loudon City Council seats are up for grabs, with 10 candidates running.

The race includes just two incumbents, Dennis Stewart and Johnny James. The two men ousted incumbents in the 2014 election, with Stewart winning in a runoff against Lois Snow after both finished with 11.9 percent of the vote. The 2014 election featured eight candidates.

Other 2018 candidates are Tammi Bivens, Tim Brewster, Mike Cartwright, Tim Dixon, Bill Hendrix, John Hutton, Jimmy Parks and Rene’ Schultz.

Parks and Cartwright served on council prior to the 2014 election. Parks finished just shy of Stewart and Snow with 11.32 percent of the vote in 2014, while Cartwright challenged for the open mayoral seat but was defeated by Jim Greenway.

Loudon’s other current councilmen, Lynn Millsaps and Jeff Harris, will not be returning to the office. Millsaps, the only incumbent to retain a seat on council in 2014, has decided not to run again.

Harris will challenge Greenway for mayor, filing his petition to run May 23.

“I wanted to run for mayor because of all the things we’ve got on the horizon,” Harris said. “I think the next four years is going to really change the face of Loudon and I want to be leading that charge. I want to make sure we don’t go back, that we don’t take steps backward, that we continue with the momentum going forward. I would like to be the one responsible for leading that charge.”

Greenway won the office in 2014 after former mayor Judy Keller decided not to seek re-election. He filed his petition for re-election one day before Thursday’s deadline.

“When this council started, we had a lot of hurdles to overcome,” Greenway said. “Since we’ve got a new manager and things have started moving, I would like to stay with it and try to follow through and see where we can take it.”

Ballot in question

While Loudon’s ballot is set, some questions remain in Lenoir City.

Four Lenoir City Council seats are up for election, but one race is decided before it begins. Jennifer Wampler will maintain her seat on council since she is the only person who filed to run for the remainder of her late husband’s unexpired term.

Harry Wampler died before election day in 2016, but voters still cast enough ballots for him to win a seat on council. Jennifer was appointed Nov. 21, 2016, by Lenoir City Mayor Tony Aikens to serve in Harry’s place until the next city election.

Three other seats held by incumbents Mike Henline, Buddy Hines and James Shields are being challenged by James Brandon, Todd Kennedy and Steve Shoemaker.

Loudon County Commissioner Earlena Maples, who will leave office at the end of the year after losing a re-election bid to Julia Hurley, filed a petition to seek a seat on council. Maples is currently appealing a decision by Lenoir City Council to remove her from the ballot, claiming a conflict of interest since she is employed by Lenoir City Utilities Board.

Two Lenoir City Board of Education seats are also up for election, with Bobby Johnson and Jim McCarroll challenged by Matthew Coleman and Rosemary Quillen.

Quillen formerly served on the city BOE as chairwoman but resigned Aug. 14, 2013. In her letter, Quillen cited “personal reasons” for her resignation.

Greenback challenger

Greenback’s four alderman seats in November’s election are set with Robin Blankenship, Delmar Davis, Polly Evans and Johnny Walker the only candidates in the race.

However, in the mayor’s race, incumbent Tom Peeler will be challenged by Walter Birchfield.